Arizona | Family Law
Legal Question
How do I stop two states from garnishing my wages when I've paid my default judgment off in full?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeanne Whitney |
I can only explain what to do in Arizona; however, procedures should be similar any state court. In addition to any monthly support ordered, there usually are interest charges and fees. You will need to gather all the proof of payment, whether it was a series of withholdings from your paychecks or payments out of your bank account. Then you should do up a month by month payment accounting. All the paperwork should be provided with a cover letter explaining that you've paid and asking any wage assignment end, to: a) the original court which ordered to child support b) if the original court matter has been filed in another state, file a copy with that court also c) for Arizona, send a copy to any office that you've received paperwork from, use the ATLAS # on the paperwork d) one last copy, with the ATLAS # to DCSE Disbursement Correspondence Unit PO Box 40458 Phoenix, AZ 85067
If they won't informally clear up this matter, you may have to file an action in the courts. I work only in Cochise County and not in Maricopa County. You may need to hire an attorney in the Arizona County where the court case is pending. Good Luck, |
Top Attorneys in AZ
R.J. Peters & Assoc., P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 929
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Donaldson Stewart, P.C.
Chandler, AZ
Questions Answered: 574
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-06
Joan Bundy Law PLC
Chandler, AZ
Questions Answered: 456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
R. J. Peters & Assoc., P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-23
PALOMINO LAW FIRM, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 411
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-14
Ronee Korbin Steiner, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Patterson Johnson-Stovall & Crenshaw PLLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Whitney Law Office
Sierra Vista, AZ
Questions Answered: 121
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-13
Search Questions and Answers


