Arizona | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
When a home is included in a bankruptcy, shouldn't the attorney file an avoidance of lien automatically ? Or is this something that has to be discussed and is an "extra service"?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Matt Eggleston |
Generally, if you are letting your house be foreclosed, it operates outside of the bankruptcy and is covered under Arizona's Anti-Deficiency Judgment Statute if you were living in the home (according to the new statute recently passed - which may be overturned soon). The exception to this is if you have a second mortgage that is an equity line of credit. In this case, it is put into the bankruptcy and no notices need be filed. This is, of course, a Chapter 7 bankruptcy I am speaking about. A Chapter 13 is a bit more complex. You need to determine which chapter you qualify for filing, if a bankruptcy is even a reasonable option for you. Finally, if you are keeping your home, you simply need to keep your payments current and you may keep the home. |
Top Attorneys in AZ
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Warren R. Markowitz, Esq
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 245
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Biddle Law Firm, PLLC
Mesa, AZ
Questions Answered: 81
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-12
Law Office of Scott W. Hyder, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Hyde & Swigart
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-18
Wade Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-27
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
Hyde & Swigart
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
O'QUINN LAW, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-09-07
Search Questions and Answers


