Arizona | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
cAN i KEEP MY VEHICLE
I have a 2008 Dodge Ram pickup that I still owe 50,000 plus and its worth only about 29,000, can i keep this under bankruptcy law. It is my only vehicle and I have a wife and three children
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeff Biddle |
Re: cAN i KEEP MY VEHICLE You may be able to, but I'm not sure why you would want to. Depending on your financial and credit situation, I'd consider buying another similar truck for 29000 and letting them repo the one that you owe 50k on. I'm a bankruptcy attorney and that scenario makes far more sense to me than keeping a car that far underwater. In a chapter 7 bankruptcy, too, there is a chance that the judge would not let you reaffirm that loan because it is worth so much less than you owe. DO NOT TRADE IT IN, THOUGH!!!
Call me. I'd love to talk to you more about your situation and how to best set you up for a fruitful life after bankruptcy. |
Top Attorneys in AZ
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Warren R. Markowitz, Esq
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 245
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Biddle Law Firm, PLLC
Mesa, AZ
Questions Answered: 81
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-12
Law Office of Scott W. Hyder, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Hyde & Swigart
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-18
Wade Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-27
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
Hyde & Swigart
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
O'QUINN LAW, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-09-07
Search Questions and Answers


