Arizona  |  Family Law

question bubble
9/07/04, 7:01 am

Legal Question


Apparently no state will divorce us ?

Good morning of afternoon, I have a special situation and so far no one has given a satisfactory answer my questions.

My ''wife'' and I want to divorce by common agreement.

The law says: ''One of the spouses must have been a resident of Arizona for at least 6 months immediately before filing for divorce.''

In my case, I am Italian and married 10 years ago in Arizona with a Mexican woman.

We never lived in Arizona, not a single day.

We lived together in Mexico for almost 9 years and have two children.

The marriage was never registered with the Mexican government, so it is not valid there.

Since I understand that we cannot divorce in the US, but we married there ... can we at least get some document that states the marriage is not valid ?

Thank you for your kind attention


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search