Arizona | Family Law
Legal Question
Im married been so for 7 yrs have 4 children w/ my hubby. I had an affair got pregnant again. Hubby had been fixed so I know my 2 month old son is not husbands. BUT Hubby put his name on birth certificate. Ex/affair guy was charged with domestic voilence towards me, had prior DV charges, not just arrest but charged. He also has mental health issues he has been diagnosed with bipolar PTSD depression and 3 suicide attempts in the last 3 yrs since 2007.
NOW his family is stating they are going to force me to get DNA test, take hubbys name off birth certificate and legally change the babys name to the same last name as biological father. Then demand visitation for both them selves and the bi-father. Or full custody.
Please spare me the moral lecture, as I fully know how I horrible I messed up but I need to know what my rights are. What sort of rights does he have and what can he do to me????
His family claims they will be fighting for full custody based on my imoral act of my affair. The affair guy was also married w/ child whose wife divorced him (Unrelated to our relationship) She was awarded full custody of their child.
Can he even haul my butt into court???? Does he have any rights??? What would happen if I 100% avoided being served, or if served just never apeared in court??.
Last the man/bio-father states he wants nothing to do with me or baby, and is not suppose to contact me due to the assult dv case. His family does. We changed phone #'s and internet things, and got a restraining order which we could not serve him with b/c he was in a VA mental ward for approx 3 weeks. Then leters started coming in the mall non threatening other then legal threats etc. and of course a lovely bunch of insults.
In the last conversation with the bi father he swore he'd take the kid, then swore he'd ruin my marriage and had hoped I'd die,. just added info.
What do you think?? All advise is needed?? Also he lives in UT Im in AZ where child was born and his DV was commited. He was told not to leave state.
Divorce & Family Law
Divorce & Family Law firm: Divorce, Annulment, Legal Separation, Child Custody, Support, Alimony and property division. Contact us to discuss how we can help. Because Family Matters!
Legal Answers
Top Areas of Law


