Arizona | Family Law
11/09/09, 12:58 pm
Legal Question
i am marrying a man that pays child support, will my income be taken?
i am marrying a man that pays child support, will my income be taken?
|
Read More Answered By: Monica Donaldson Stewart |
Your income is not included for child support calculation purposes, and your wages cannot be garnished for his child support obligation. |
|
Read More Answered By: Rich Peters |
No. Your income will not be considered in any child support modification matters, and cannot be garnished.
There is a risk, that as you accumulate community property, his 1/2 of the community property, which can derive from your income, could be subject to attachment IF he ever fell behind in his child support obligation.
This could be protected through a premarital agreement.
We can certainly help you consider whether a premarita;l agreement is worthwhile in this situation.
One of our attorneys can explain the issues and procedures better in person. As you can imagine, there is too much to cover via email. We offer free 1/2 hour consultations, in which we can discuss your matter in detail.
Please call us directly to discuss the specifics of your matter, or contact my assistant Gloria or my paralegal Jennifer to schedule your free 1/2 hour consultation
/s/ Rich J. Peters RJ PETERS & ASSOC., P.C. 1422 North 2nd Street, Suite 100 Phoenix, Arizona 85004 602-254-7251 facsimile 602-254-1229 see our website at www.familylawaz.com
|
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 929
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Chandler, AZ
Questions Answered: 574
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-06
Chandler, AZ
Questions Answered: 456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-23
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 411
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-14
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 179
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Sierra Vista, AZ
Questions Answered: 121
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-13
► Hello i need a marriage contract , financial agreement, because short ,iam rich my...
► What form do i need to change the place where i see my daughter on the weekends?
► I am interested in getting a legal separation from my husband. We have kids and it's...
► What does it mean by MINUTE ENTRY EVENT when dealing with a custody battle- Couple...
► The court just gave more parenting time to my x-boyfriend. He does not have a job...
► My daughter signed 2 of my grandchildren over to me in 2003 and subsequently signed...
► My fiance and I are getting married and I want to adopt her 5 year old son as well....
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Arizona| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press