Arizona  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
6/21/09, 2:01 am

Legal Question


Character letter.

The husband of one of my employees was recently deported to Mexico because he was here illegally and got into some sort of problem with the law...drinking was involved...I do not know the whole story. My employee want me to write a letter as a character reference. I know him and I think he is good man and a good father. I did not know he was here illegally, my employee is not. They have three daughters....all very nice girls, one who also works for me. I would be willing to give him a job and would like to know if that is something I should put in the letter. I am not familiar with the legal process for getting a work permit or whether or not this letter would be futile, given the fact that he was arrested (or at least was in jail and then deported). Is there even any chance that he would be allowed to return to the U.S.?Apparently he was here illegally for at least 10 years. I have known him and his family for 3 1/2. I own a restaurant and would be happy to give him a job. I know he has helped his wife, who has cleaned my restaurant and been a dishwasher for me for that long. Is there something else I could put into the letter that might help?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search