Arizona  |  Employment Law

question bubble
9/09/09, 2:09 pm

Legal Question


An AZ company aggressively pursues me for a Directors job. At the time, I am gainfully employed with a great job in New York (where I resided). The owner verbally made promises as well as guaranteed my 1st 12 months pay.

After a long and arduous recruitment process I accept the job. This is a major move, as our home, family, friends and an auto restoration business that I own are all located in New York. We have nothing in Phoenix except for this job offer.

Suddenly, myDirectors position is eliminated. I am given 1 days notice, and they are only offering 2 weeks severance.

Questions are:

Under what different legal statutes might I have legal recourse? - Since I was originally in New York (worked virtually for 1st month from there as well) - can I initiate an action in New York - and is there any advantage to that?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search