Arizona  |  Employment Law

question bubble
2/01/00, 9:38 pm

Legal Question


Payroll error in employees favor

I work as a municipal firefighter and was given a temporary promotion and 5% raise in 1995.

3 months later I wasa given a permanent promotion and my pay was adjusted to the new positions scale.

The payroll department did not stop my temporary pay increase and I just found the error myself in mid January 2000. I now owe in excess of $9,000.

Is there any limitation on how the city can elect to recoup the overpayment of wages?

Is there any limiting factor to the amount that can be recovered by the city?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search