Arizona  |  Employment Law

question bubble
12/31/10, 11:47 am

Legal Question


My situation has several questions to be answered. I work for a start-up website company and am paid as a 1099 employee. My feeling is that I am not technically a contract employee, as the owner has a great deal to do with what I do and how I do it. He constantly micro-manages what I do and how I do it, and although I am to be paid a flat rate per week, he docks me for days I may not do anything and for holidays. We have no written agreement regarding pay; he just said he would pay me by the week. (He even provided me with business cards with the company name on it.)

If I am not a contract EE then the next question is moot, but I would like an answer to it.

One question is whether the spreadsheets I make to track what I do are mine or his? If I am a contract EE, then aren't those spreadsheets mine since they are tools I use to track what I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search