Arizona | Employment Law
Legal Question
If i was not treated equally at work(example: not given the same tools to work with yet required to do the same job). When I wrote letter to the HR department of my company about it, I was let go the next day. Also constantly called grampa.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Blake Simms |
Thank you very much for the inquiry. If you believe your termination was related to your age and you are at least 40 years-old, you might have a claim under the Age Discrimination in Employment Act ("ADEA"). To formally pursue a claim under the ADEA, you would need to, within 300 days of your termination, file with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission ("EEOC") a charge of discrimination.
If your complaint to Human Resources included allegations the company was discriminating against you on the basis of age, you might also have a retaliation claim. The same EEOC filing procedures that apply to an age discrimination claim apply to a retaliation claim.
It is often more effective to try and resolve these matters prior to filing with the EEOC. That is because the threat of EEOC action provides extra leverage in settlement discussions. Please feel free to contact me with any questions. Thank you. |
Top Attorneys in AZ
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Patterson Johnson-Stovall & Crenshaw PLLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 179
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
W. Blake Simms, P.C.
Tempe, AZ
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
The Gonzalez Law Office
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-31
Search Questions and Answers


