Arizona  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
2/04/05, 11:42 am

Legal Question


Does appeal stop district court action?

I appealed a district court order denying my request for counsel in a medical malpractice claim. The U S marshal served the papers on the defendants for me and copy 3 of USM form 285 says the clerk of the district court was notified of the service. The district court judge's order says I must notify the court when service is completed. Does the marshal's form 285 do this so I don't have to duplicate the notice? Also, the judge's order says that within 10 days of notice of completion of service, I must request the court to set a case management conference date. Does my appeal stop my need to request this conference? If possible, I would rather wait until I see if the appeals court will reverse the district court order and allow appointment of counsel.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search