Re: disabled veteran disabilty dependent payments
Disability Pension is a benefit paid to wartime veterans with limited income and with physical limitations to work. To be eligible,certain criteria has to be met viz.90 days service on active duty with 1 day during war , inability to work on a regular full time job ,honourable discharge, etc. Another requirement is that your countable family income is below a yearly limit set by law.
You are right that the countable income limit which is set by the law takes into account the veterans with dependents and children and Veterans Affairs Department therefore, pays the difference between countable family income and the yearly income limit which describes the situation of each disabled veteran.Family Income limits (effective Dec 1, 1998), for example, set the limit with spouse and two children as $13305. You must however, clearly note that some income is not counted towards the yearly limit( for example, welfare benefits, some wages earned by dependent children, and supplemental Security Income)
I guess you should ask your co-worker friend to speak to the Veteran and ask for the details of dependent money that he has erstwhile been drawing on their behalf and to make the payments with arrears ;alternatively ,she could get this information from VA Application Form 21-526 submitted by the Veteran to the authorities below, which carries depedency record (marriage and children 's birth certificates)and details of compensation demanded.
In case the Veteran still does not cooperate, then I guess she should enquire/approach the following organization for immediate help:
US Department Of Veterans Affairs
Veterans Benefits Administration
VA Regional Office
3225 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85012-2405
E-mail phoenix.query@vba.va.gov
TOLL FREE TELEPHONE:1-800-827-1000
I also recommend going through the Veterans Entitlements Act 1986 for a comprehensive outlook on the subject.
Thanks and Goodbye.
Anjum Jawaid Khan
LL.M.(McGill)
Attorney at Law
.