Arizona | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I have a $250K mortgage for a house that now has a value of $150K. What does the Arizona anti-deficiency law entitle the lender to do in the case of a strategic default?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lance Davidson |
Hi, my sympathies for your situation. The anti-deficiency statute limits a lender re. deficiencies, but there are loopholes and many realtors are unaware of them when advising real estate clients. Be mindful of the minefield in short sales. I recently won a case where a lender sought a deficiency judgment after a short sale, but many lenders are successful in pursuing deficiencies [the difference between the loan balance and the sales proceeds to pay off the loan].
Your issue may be time-sensitive and may result in loss of rights if you do not act timely. Thank you. Lance Davidson, www.CleverLegal.com, 480-860-9390
Disclaimer: This answer does not create an attorney-client relationship and is for informational purposes only. It is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice and you should not rely upon it as more specificity in a consultation may reveal facts or other information which could change the result. You should consult an attorney for legal advice addressed to your individual situation.
|
Top Attorneys in AZ
Donald T. Scher & Associates, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 1357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Meyer Law Office
Chandler, AZ
Questions Answered: 141
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-23
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Law Office of Scott W. Hyder, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Weitz Law Firm, PLLC
Kirkland, WA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-31
Wolfe Law Group, LLC
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-15
The Law Office of Riley S. Snow PLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Search Questions and Answers


