Arizona | Tax Law
Legal Question
irs
my mother is has a levy against her and they have garnished 3500 in savings...she now owes 2500 and she is on a fixed income of disability and social security...how can we stop the garnishment?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeff Moffatt |
Re: irs Levy The Levy needs to be reviewed to see if it is continious or a one time levy.
Second it needs to be determined what issue caused the levy? Is this a proper levy or not.
Next one needs to determine how much of the levy relates to penalties. Are the penalties justified, or are there exceptions.
The IRS also has some maximum percentages it can levy on a person's social security. I would need to know what is the gross monthly, to determine the maximum that can be taken, if the levy is in fact proper.
Atty,JeffMoffatt4806264844 |
Top Attorneys in AZ
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Weitz Law Firm, PLLC
Kirkland, WA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-31
Berens, Kozub & Lord PLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 36
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-11
Law office of Jeff Moffatt
Lancaster, CA
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-06-11
Quarles & Brady Streich Lang
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-01-21
Countryman & McDaniel
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-14
The Law Office of Keith Dorman, Jr.
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-01-05
Rick Kilfoy, Esq.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-09-14
Search Questions and Answers


