Arizona | Tax Law
Legal Question
SS Benefits
My spouse was receiving benefits from my SS and she passed away does that now go back to my benefits?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeff Moffatt |
Re: SS Benefits The SS system is not a pool of money you have put in, and what is not used by, in this case, the two of you proceeds to the survivor. The SS system is amazingly like a Ponzi scheme, that if the insurance companies did a similar investment activity would result in criminal penalties.
That being said, the ss is funded by current working individuals, not by your past deposits. When it was determined that your spouse had a benefit, this was based on what you had earned, i.e. the number of work quarters you might have put in to qualify for SS. This qualifying of your wife didn't take away any possible benefit you had yourself.
If this SS program was run like a 401k, then there would be rollover provisions to the survivor. No such luck with the SS system. |
Top Attorneys in AZ
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Weitz Law Firm, PLLC
Kirkland, WA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-31
Berens, Kozub & Lord PLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 36
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-11
Law office of Jeff Moffatt
Lancaster, CA
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-06-11
Quarles & Brady Streich Lang
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-01-21
Countryman & McDaniel
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-14
The Law Office of Keith Dorman, Jr.
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-01-05
Rick Kilfoy, Esq.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-09-14
Search Questions and Answers


