Arizona | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My husband has terminal cancer and we have a joint checking account. We live in Arizona. Will they freeze the account when he dies? We don't have enough assets to go through probate.
Legal Answer
No, upon the passing of your husband, the joint account will be owned solely by you, no probate is required for assets held jointly with right of survivorship.
Donald T. Scher & Associates, P.C.
2200 E. Camelback Rd., #102
Phoenix, AZ 85255
Legal Answer
I agree with Don Scher. When your husband passes you will be the owner of the joint checking account. You should also check to make sure that your other assets are properly titled. Your car title should say you OR your husband and if you own a home it should be titled as joint tenants with right of survivorship. If your husband has life insurance, you should be named as the beneficiary and not the estate.
Meyer Law Office
3800 S. Alma School Road, Suite 122
Chandler, AZ 85248-4499
Top Areas of Law


