Arizona  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/17/09, 6:08 pm

Legal Question


My question is: What happens to credit card debt when someone passes away? Can and do the Credit Card Co. put a lien on the property?


question bubble
11/22/09, 7:55 pm

Legal Answer


No, they cannot put a lien on the property without first getting a judgment. They are a creditor and must make a claim against the estate of the account holder. The estate is liable for the debts of the deceased. You should consult with a lawyer regarding the necessity of probate and how the probate should be handled. There may be a possibility that the debt owing could be compromised by agreement with the personal representative of the estate.

Donald Scher

Donald T. Scher & Associates, P.C. 2200 E. Camelback Rd., #102 Phoenix, AZ 85255

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search