Arkansas | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Auto Repossession Deficiency Seems Suspicious
I had a car repo'd in early 2004, after purchasing it brand new in June 2003. I came home very late one night, and woke up the next morning to find it gone. Contacted the finance company who told me where it had been taken and I collected my belongings. That was it. I never heard from them again until about 9 months later, when they called to offer me a settlement on the deficiency balance and I began crying and they hung up. Fast forward to April of this year, and I did a bit of research, tried to challenge the amount they claim I owe. They sent me some paperwork, including one page of my original contract with my signature, as well as two different sheets accounting for the ''total charges due'' though neither balance was the same, nor did the charges match up from page to page. I never received any letters from them following the repo, and I'm thinking that it was done illegally. They sold it about 15 days after the repossession, in the state of Tennessee. I haven't yet found any info pertaining to whether or not it was required to be sold in this state. Please help!


