Arkansas  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 1:37 pm

Legal Question


I am in the US as a student for 5 years (PhD).Now I am ready to graduate. I hold an indian passport.. However a US family that I knew for the last few years wanted me to stay or visit them every 6 months or so. They mentioned that they would like to help me get a US citizenship. I wanted to ask 1.how can they help me get a US citizenship. 2. Can they help me get one through sponsership? How does that work?

If there are any suggestions please let me know.( I am not interested in getting a work permit and then applying for a greencard and then for US citizenship.These people are very old and may not live that long).


question bubble
11/18/09, 1:58 pm

Legal Answer


You can, of course, visit the family of friends in USA every 6 months or so after you graduate and move back to India. The visa to apply for these visits would be a Visitor's visa.

However, this family can't help you to become a USA citizen. There is absolutely nothing that they can do. This is a common misconception with people who are unaware of immigration law rules and procedures.

If you’d like to schedule a telephone or email legal consultation, or need advice or help, please let me know, and I’d be glad to help you: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com or lubasmal [@] yahoo.com .

Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If you request a follow-up confidential advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com

Luba Smal

Smal Immigration Law Office PO Box 540531 Omaha, NE 68154

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search