California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
About 4 and a half years ago in 2004 I made a mistake by signing up for Cingulars (AT&T) for my sister. I was paying it for her but later she offered to pay it herself but later I found out that she haven't paid a dime. The bill came up to over $900 after the penalty charge for the 2 yr contract. Now 4 and a half years later (today) I received a call from a collection company he said if I didn't take the settlement today they will serve me on Friday for the bill which is now $2800. So I took the settlement deal but I asked for him to hold it until the 5th of Nov. Is there a way that I can fight this in court or should I just pay the settlement. The settlement is for $980. My question is what is the best way to deal with this?


