California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
1/13/02, 5:59 am

Legal Question


1st time Theft case charged as Burgerly (2nd degree) - help seek

I shoplifted a couple sports shirts worth $130 from a department store, was walked in by the store personel and questioned. I was cooporative and admitted to them I also shoplifted similar items in the store a few times before, I was scared and agreed to pay them back an amount they calculated: $1100. The total amount I shotlifted altogether from the store are substantially less than $1100. I thought I cooporated with them and pay them back some more and they might let me go. But afterwards they called in police to arrest and charge me with Burgarly(2nd degree).

This is my first time, I have a clean history with no previous any arrest or criminal record. I have a court day of 2/21/02 (northern muni court).

How long is the jail-term for burgerly (2nd degree) if convicted? Should I hire an attorney? Could anyone help me not to serve jail, and possibly drop the felony charge - keep my record clean? Thanks in advance for your help.


AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE

Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!

YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!

Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7

VISIT OUR WEBSITE


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search