California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/22/08, 8:00 pm

Legal Question


Arbitration process

I am an almost first-time

buyer currently in an

escrow nightmare. I

cancelled escrow when I

did not get my loan

contingency met. It has

been over a month and

seller refuses to sign

escrow cancellation. I

just got a letter from her

attorney asking for half of

my deposit-she wants

$4000-for her time and

expenses. My agent and

I have asked for an

itemized list which she

has yet to provide after 1

week. Now I've sent in a

demand letter asking for

my full deposit back

because I followed the

terms of contract and feel

like this is really unfair.

I've been told I must do

arbitration before a trial.

My question is, do I need

an attorney? What is the

arbitration process, and

should I be represented

to win this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search