California  |  Family Law

question bubble
3/14/01, 4:53 pm

Legal Question


Baby's last name if not married?

I am divorced and I kept my ex-husband's last name after the divorce. Currently I am in a ''live-in'' relationship with my fiance and we are expecting our first child together. We will not be able to get marrried before the baby is born. I would like to avoid giving the baby my ex-husband's last name. Can I give the baby my fiancees last name (he is the father of the baby) at birth legally without being married to him?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search