California | Business Law
Legal Question
Doing Business As
How do I establish a DBA for our company and find out if it is being used by anyone else?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Becker |
Re: Doing Business As In order to do business under a name other than your entity's legal name, you need to file a fictitious business name statement (also referred to as a dba) with the county recorder. You will also need to publish in an approved newspaper (list supplied by county clerk). The process is quite easy and is usually explained by the filing clerk. The name also has to be renewed every few years, depending upon your county. If you want to pay a little extra, there are many services that will take care of the whole process for you.
Some counties have an online search system to determine if the name has already been registered by another party. Otherwise, you can normally search at the recorder's office.
Please note, this filing does not really give you any trademark rights beyond what you would normally have at common law. The best way to protect a name at the national level is to file a trademark application with the USPTO.
If you would like more information and a free consultation, please contact me directly. matt@beckerlawfirm.com or (619) 522-6760.
Good luck! |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Doing Business As Many small newspapers and some "shopping news" type papers are approved for publication of your DBA, and since they seek the ad revenue, they often supply the blank filing forms. Do not depend on their clerks for legal advice, however.
The clerks at the courthouse are likewise not supposed to give out legal advice, but they can be very helpful in steering you through the filing formalities if you ask politely when they aren't busy.
Detrmining whether a proposed business name infringes the rights of another is a much more difficult process. There is no complete register of all names in use and entitled to protection, and the question of whether one name actually infringes a similar one is very technical and the subject of frequent and expensive litigation.
Probably the best single source is the Patent and Trademark office on line at www.uspto.gov, and from there you try this and that until you locate their trademark database search interface.
Next best bet is to use Internet general-purpose search engines such as Alta Vista, Google and of course Dogpile.
The California Secretary of State maintains lists of corporations, limited liability companies, limited partnerships etc. in a consolidated data base which attorneys can access through WestLaw. I do not know if there is free on-line access; you might have to try their usually-busy phone line or drop by on your next trip to Sacramento.
The more famous a trademark is, the more closely the law protects it. Having a name similar to another small company in a distant state is unlikely to cause trademark problems unless you are in the same line of business. If you turn up a possible conflict, try to get a waiver from the other company. If in doubt, try another name. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


