California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
Cd payment
My company helped an artist print up CDS, we charge artist $3 per CD, on oral contract artist given 6 boxes of CDs containing 100 CDs in each box. Artist lives in Billings, Montana and says she is not paying $1,800 for CDs because she does not have a contract with me. Artist says her attorney told her she does not have to pay. I have all proofs, graphix, songs, etc, proving that her CD was made by my company. Artist wanted lessons on stage presence and singing lessons after her CDs were pressed, which was not a part of our deal, artist supposedly had set up an account for CDs to pay off debt. Because artist was not brought to California to develop career (which is not on contract) she feels she does not have to pay for her share of CD, keeping in mind that she did not pay for CDs to be pressed but my company did. I sent a letter to artist dated May 16, 2005 and asked her to get in touch with me within 30 days to make arrangements for payment


