Re: Is my name change legal
Dear Inquirer:
Nothing herein shall create an attorney-client
relationship, unless a written retainer agreement
is executed by the attorney and client. This
communication contains general information only.
Nothing herein shall constitute an attorney-client
communication nor legal advice. There likely are
deadlines and time-limits associated with your
case; you should contact an attorney of your
choice for legal advice specific to your personal
situation, at once.
If you haven't already done so, please visit my
web site at --
http://home.pacbell.net/edbjr/ OR
http://www.CaliforniaDivorceAttorney.com
The site contains quite a bit of general
information about California Family Law, Tenants'
Rights, and Juvenile Dependencies, and EDD
hearings and appeals, as well as information
about me (education, experience, et cetera)
and my office (location, hours, fees, policies).
NOW, IN RESPONSE TO YOUR INQUIRY --
You can change your name by usage (as you have) or
by court-order. The latter makes it easier when dealing
with official records and sometimes is required. Check
with the State Department regarding passports. I charge
$995 for a court ordered name change including filing fee,
publication costs, and one local court appearance if necessary.
Thanks for sharing your interesting inquiry with
us on LawGuru, and good luck with your case.