Legal Question in Family Law in California

I have a child support hearing on August 30th. This was originally filed on May 13, 2011 to establish parentage, that issue has now been resolved as we took a court order paternity test and he was found to be the father. He wants no visitation or custody of my son. The only remaining issue is establishing child support and paying the uncovered medical costs of the pregnancy. My issue at this point is that the father is hiding his income. The I&E he filed even shows his expenses exceeding his income. For almost 2 years he has worked as a Gymnastics coach part time in minnesota (20-23 hours/week) at $13 an hour and works as a flooring installer at $15/hr with varying hours. The flooring jobs are completely paid under the table and he does not include that income on his taxes. I am looking to have his income "imputed" but I want to be sure I have everything needed to do this. I printed out his 08 tax return (only one I could find), names/address/phone number of three contractors he's working for, a print out of average salary for all jobs he's qualified for, and job listings on craigslist in his area. What are the chances that the judge will imputed his income? He has full custody of his other child and according to his Income report he doesn't even make minimum wage

Asked on 8/07/11, 5:13 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Isi Mataele 'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It is hard to say but you present a good case. If you lose ask for a trial on the issue.

Read more
8/09/11, 4:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now