California | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
Can you clarify?
I am trying to understand how this works. If I take everyones word from here and the appellet lawyers I talked to I come up with this which seems like a mess.
If a trial court judge makes a summery judgment in favor of the defendant and in the light most favorable to the plaintiff, and the court of Appeal is supposed to only look at the law and not the facts, then what happens to the disputed facts? Is the rulling by the trial court judge now set in stone and off the table? How can a case be looked at De Novo in appeal if they do not reconsidering facts?
Assuming both sides find supporting case law for an appeal, what side is the court of appeals supposed to view then?


