California | Business Law
Legal Question
Client Lists
I am a self employed independent contractor. I prepare income tax returns for individuals and businesses. 90% of the tax returns I work on come from one client's tax prep office. I have worked for this client for over three years. I use her office facilities, computers telephones and supplies to prepare these tax returns.
For this client I service her data base of clients. She rarely works or speaks with clients. Having developed a relationship with her clients, they now call and request to speak with me. When they refer new business they tell their friends and co-workers to speak with me. Most of these people consider themselves ''my'' clients.
Should I decide to open my own office, can I use the contact information I have accumulated (personal notes, rolodex, etc.) to contact these people to inform them of my new business venture?
Some additional information: I have no contract, written or otherwise, with respect to my current position. I am an independent contractor paid on a form 1099, not a w-2 employee.
Thank you in advance for your thoughts


