California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
5/16/03, 10:39 am

Legal Question


Collection of Debt after fining Bankrupcy

Could you please advise me if it is leagal for a Creditor that was included in the filing of a Chapter 13 Bankruptcy entered 07/1998 to now try to collect the debt, or sell the account to a collection agency? I have made no payments to this company for at least 1997. I am currently trying to purchase a home and my loan company is telling me this account needs to be paid. My credit report showes it as ''INCLUDED IN BANKRUPTCY''. I have called the company and was told that the they closed this account in 1999. I was told to request this from the correspondence department and did and now I have just received a letter from a collection agency stating that they purchased this account and they are offering a settlement of 50 cents on the dollor. Any advise on what I should do would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerly, Susan


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search