California | Technology Law
Legal Question
Copyright of photographs
Our company produces movies shot on videotape. During production, multiple still photographs are taken, both action shots during videotaping and separately posed publicity shots of the actors just before or after the video recording. We hold U.S. copyrights for each and every video feature but have not filed separately for the photographs.
We have discovered multiple instances of our photographs posted online on paid membership-based websites and wish to pursue legal action. What protection devolves to the photographs from the copyrights granted to the video features? Are any or all of the stills protected? Thank you.


