California  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/22/08, 1:00 pm

Dismissed civil case

What can I do if my Civil case was dismissed because I arrived late for the hearing? Can I appeal?

4 Answers


Answered on: 4/22/08, 1:11 pm by Robert F. Cohen

Re: Dismissed civil case

You could immediately (don't wait) file a motion to set aside dismissal based on grounds of inadvertence, mistake, or excusable neglect. Support your argument with a declaration explaining your excusable neglect.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Robert F. Cohen P.O. Box 15896 San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/22/08, 1:20 pm by JOHN GUERRINI

Re: Dismissed civil case

In some cases, you can file a motion to reinstate the case, using Code of Civil Procedure 473.5 or 473 as a basis for relief. It can get a bit complicated, depending upon the facts.

It is unclear if your case was dismissed BECAUSE you failed to appear or if it was dismissed for another reason, and your failure to appear is not relevant. For example, if you filed a lawsuit and the defendant responded with a demurrer, and you then failed to oppose the demurrer, then the court would likely dismiss the case regardless of whether you appeared at the hearing on the demurrer.

This answer presumes that you are asking about "regular" court, i.e. not Small Claims hearings.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


THE GUERRINI LAW FIRM - COLLECTION LAWYERS 750 EAST GREEN STREET SUITE 200 Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/22/08, 1:28 pm by Terry A. Nelson

Re: Dismissed civil case

An appeal is pointless, as the court didn't make any 'mistake' in doing what it did. Instead, you must file a motion to be relieved from default, seeking to have the case and hearing put back on calendar. If that is denied, then you might have grounds for an appeal. No, there is not a 'form' to check off, it has to be a custom drafted motion supported by proper declarations and evidence and legal arguments. Feel free to contact me if serious about getting the legal help you'll need in doing this.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/22/08, 1:37 pm by Dieter Zacher

Re: Dismissed civil case

You have 6 months from the date of dismissal to set aside the order of dismissal by filing a motion to set aside based upon California Code of Civil Procedure section 473 [mistake, inadvertence, excusable neglect]. The motion must also contain a declaration explaining and giving a good reason why you did not appear on time. We can draft the motion for you for a flat fee. Let's talk.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Dieter Zacher 17011 Beach Boulevard, Suite 900 Huntington Beach, CA 92647

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

286 Answers given in the last few hours.

7529 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search