California | Family Law
Legal Question
Domestic partnership registration
I am a registered domestic partner, which I believe went into effect in January of this year. (Our actual date we signed the registration was June of 2004.) I am currently refinancing the house which is held in an irrevocable family trust, but I had to take the house out of the trust in order to do the refinance, and then I was advisedto retitle it back to the trust. I received a form in the loan package that seems to say that I have to inform the lender whether or not I am in a registered partnership, due to the fact that California is a community property state. It goes on to say that even if my domestic partner is not going to be on the loan (they aren't) I might be responsible for any of their liabilities, i.e, it seems to be saying I may have to pay off past debts incurred by my partner? My partner was in a bad accident and was in poor health for a few years prior to our becoming registered last year, and incurred some debts. Will I be responsible for those debts that were incurred before our registration, and can the bank force me to pay them with the cash I was going to take out of the house for the re-fi? And, can lenders require (by law) that one discloses their status as a domestic partner?
Thanks alot for your help.


