California | Education Law
Legal Question
False Statements to School by Ex
I am the primary custodial parent of a 13 yr. old with multiple medical and psychological issues, including Autism. Since our divorce, my Ex and his new spouse have made numerous extremely derogatory statements about me to school personnel. They also advised the school to disregard the medical documentation regarding our child’s disabilities, because they were “based on claims” made by me. I also discovered similarly horrendous statements, hand-written by my Ex, in our child’s DISTRICT files.
Due to the extreme nature of the statements, I have almost no relationship with the school. They are polite, but condescending, unless I attempt to assert myself, which causes them to become hostile and dismissive. They refuse to conduct a new IEP, and instead suggest that I read some “parenting” books so I can learn about teenagers who manipulate their parents. Is there anything I can do to get the school to look at the FACTS about my child, instead of listening to vindictive propaganda? At 13, my child cannot afford to have his educational needs dismissed by the very people who are responsible for his education.


