California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
12/09/09, 6:13 pm

Legal Question


My Father died and left a Will which I believe he was coerced by a younger sibling, into to changing shortly before his death. Everything was changed to go to her. I plan to protest the 2 Wills, what court would handle this type of case?


question bubble
12/14/09, 10:59 pm

Legal Answer


Superior Court (Probate Division) of the county where he resided at the time of his death. You should consult an attorney.

Michele Cusack

Pollak & Cusack 1701 Novato Blvd. Suite 304 Novato, CA 94947

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
12/15/09, 9:03 am

Legal Answer


Your objections would be filed in the Superior Court - Probate department of the County where your father was living at the time he died. You would file them in the same probate proceeding that I assume you sibling is opening. I agree with Michele that you should consult with an attorney. There are a number of somewhat complex issues that you will need to address to prove your case. You should also look for any assets that your father may have had in joint tenancy as that could control there disposition.

Jonathan Reich

De Castro, West, Chodorow, Glickfeld & Nass, Inc. 10960 Wilshire Blvd, 14th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90024

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
12/15/09, 10:04 am

Legal Answer


You can contest the will in probate court, and if other items were changed (like property deeds, life insurance policies, retirement plans, etc.) you can sue for the return of these to his estate in probate court as well.

Chris Johnson

Christopher B. Johnson, Attorney at Law 790 East Colorado Boulevard, Ninth Floor Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search