California  |  Securities Law

question bubble
6/18/10, 11:21 pm

Legal Question


I have filed arbritration against my former financial advisor as well as the company that employs him. He put my funds in high risk private placements that were for accredited investors only - of which I am not. I was not even aware of what these terms meant and the fact that the investments were considered high risk. In short time, two were declared "ponzi schemes" and I lost $40K. (My total portfolio is about $200K).

I filed arbritation for 40K with 10K in punitive damages. His attorney has contacted me and they want to settle for 30K, but it will come from the company and they want me to sign a release for the individual financial rep. It says something like.. "serve as a dismissal, without prejudice" and "absolves and relinquishes all claims I have in this action".

Questions - Is their offer in my best interest?

Should I change it to "with prejudice"?

The rest of my portfolio is in oil and land, which cannot be liquidated. So far, they still have value - but if those go under also then I may need to file a claim on those - or by signing this release, does that negate any future claims?

Thank you very much for any assistance or advice you can offer.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search