Re: Filing for a trademark
The Official Fee (government cost) for registering a trademark at the US Patent & Trademark Office is currently $335 per class of goods and services.
Although the categories are often blurred: like a department store or in a grocery store, goods (and services)are divided into many classes for different items such as paper goods, (Class 16); clothing and shoes (Class 25);
beer and alcoholic beverages - (class 32). Services too are divided into categories such as entertainment, advertising, financial, retail, telecommunications services, etc.
Please keep in mind that unless a name is truly fanciful or coined - (e.g., XEROX or KODAK) it is often possible in many cases that two different people may register the same
name in different classes -- (e.g. DELTA for faucets and DELTA for airlines, and DELTA DENTAL for dental care insurance). This rule exists because it is unlikely for customers to become confused into thinking that the dentists, faucets and the airlines are coming from the same source company.
Therefore simpler words and - more common expressions (and designs) should be protected in any class where one is doing business or where one might anticipate infringement to occur.
To apply for Trademark for your BUSINESS NAME, PRODUCT NAME, SLOGAN or LOGO, go to www.mybrandsonline.com.
For more information, visit www.brandxperts.com