California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/12/12, 2:10 pm

How to get a LAWYER who knows Compulsory Process Power (subpoeana duces tecum) and obtain custodian of records to fight an 496(a)?

(I'm NO LAWYER but I can read....

enough to know my Lawyer needs to be efficient in Civil,Criminal, and Business)

4 Answers


Answered on: 4/12/12, 2:20 pm by Hong Shen

Before doing anything yourself, find criminal defense attorneys and get help. Your strategy to fight 496a should be set by the attorney.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Roberts Law Group 5707 Corsa Ave. Westlake Village, CA 91362

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/12/12, 2:33 pm by Edward Hoffman

I agree with Mr. Shen.

Any criminal defense attorney should know how to subpoena evidence from third parties. And unless there is something unusual about your case, you should not need a lawyer who is an expert in civil litigation or business law.

Good luck.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/12/12, 2:33 pm by Theresa Hofmeister

call different attorneys in the area where your case will be heard until you find one with whom you are comfortable. Good luck!


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Theresa Hofmeister, Attorney At Law 336 South Broadway Escondido, CA 92025-4207

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/12/12, 4:28 pm by Terry A. Nelson

As indicated by the others, your focus and worry about subpoenas is misplaced. Get an experienced criminal defense attorney, the rest are basic procedure and pleading issues. You are fighting a criminal charge, not a civil suit defense. Documents are not difficult to subpoena. If it is going to be a document intensive case, taken large amounts of time, expect to pay for that time. If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, feel free to contact me. Iíll be happy to help, using whatever defenses there may be, and have been doing this for over 30 years. .


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search