California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Can lender claim deficiency judgement?
In late 2006 we bought a condo for over $215000. We lived there for a little over 2 years. At the end of 2008, we decided to buy a second home because prices have dropped. In the meantime, our condo's value has dropped dramatically. So we found ourselves paying more for a mortage that's worth nothing compared to the new bigger and much better place. My question is, can the lender go after us using the Deficiency Judgement if we decide to give them the condo back or are we protected by the Mortgage Debt Forgiveness? Is Deed in Lieu an option?


