California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
loan modification
If your bank will not work with you. Should one consult legal help and go before the Judge for BK and modification.
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Christopher M. Brainard, Esq. |
Re: loan modification There is no form available for this. I am a lawyer and a real estate broker -- i.e., a real estate attorney and I do specialize in loan modifications and actually initiating suit against lenders for predatory loans, truth in lending, and other issues. I negotiate loan modifications and can likely assist you for a reasonable fee. Sometimes, if the violations are bad enough, we can completely negate the loan. Contact me to schedule an appointment and thank you for your consideration.
Christopher Brainard, Esq. 310.266.4115 |
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
Re: loan modification As of today, the "Helping Families Save Their Homes in Bankruptcy Act of 2009" has not yet passed in the Senate; therefore if you are talking about a loan modification on your primary residence, a chapter 13 filing might not help you either (yet). The bill is in the Senate, and has a lot of opponents. This legislation has been kicking around for years, and while this is the first time it has a real shot at being approved, until it is approved, a bankruptcy would delay a foreclosure, but in it (with certain very limited circumstances), you could not force a loan modification. Are you handling the modification yourself, or is someone representing you? That's an important part of the puzzle. If you are handling it yourself, or you have hired a company that is less-than-competent, you may not be getting anywhere solely because you, or the company may not be pushing the right buttons. Has someone performed an audit of your loan documents? If there are problems there, you stand a better chance of forcing a modification. The other possible answer is that even with a modification, the bank may feel that you just will not be ultimately successful in making payments on time going forward. There is a high default rate for modified mortgages, so banks do take into consideration whether they can even modify your mortgage to a point where it will work. If not, they would rather take the house back in foreclosure. Keep an eye on S.61 via something like the website govtrac.us to see if it passes. There is a good article on bankruptcylawnetwork.com today about the bill, and those who are fighting it in the Senate.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13879
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12203
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10402
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


