California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Missing 3,000 sq feet due to adverse possession
I bough a home with an acre lot a year ago. I could not afford to hire a land surveyor at that time. Even thought the seller asserted the sell of the property to be that with the accessory’s office, the seller sold as. Furthermore, the title company clear the title without knowing that someone adversely took 3,000 sq foot of the land.
Was it my responsibility to hire a land surveyor, or was it the Title Company or Seller’s responsibility to provide me with the land for which I paid for?


