Legal Question in Family Law in California

My Mother was served with an Order to Show Cause for me to appear at mediation next Thursday before Christmas with my Exhusband/Father to my two children. Court is January 10, 2012 and my questions are: 1. Can they legally serve my Mother? 2. She was served on Dec. 12 for mediation on the Dec 22 but I did not get the paperwork until today, December 15, 1 week before mediation. How am I to reply with such short notice prior to the mediation date? 3. What do I do to postpone the mediation date?

Not employed at this time and have no funds for an attorney.

Asked on 12/15/11, 3:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anne Marie Healy Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Go to court and explain to the court how you were served and ask for a continuance and a new mediation date.

Read more
Answered on 12/20/11, 12:04 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88693 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Adam LambertThe Law Office of Adam S. LambertNew Orleans, LA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now