California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
using music in mutimedia work
Can one use music without permission of owners?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anita Rivas |
entirely off base To use music in any manner in an audio-visual (or multi-media)work, you music seek permission from the copyright owners of both the sound recording (record company) and the composition (publisher) - even if the use is for a few seconds. If you do not pre clear the rights, you are liable for copyright infringment. A court could award the owners, statutory damages and attorneys' fees if the works are registered with the U.S. Copyright Office. |
Top Attorneys in CA
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 547
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of Jonas M. Grant, A.P.C.
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Keith E. Cooper, Esq.
West Hollywood, CA
Questions Answered: 320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
M.E.T.A.L. Law Group LLP - Los Angeles Entertainment Attorneys
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Withrow and Betinol Law
Santa Monica, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Search Questions and Answers


