California | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
names
in america can you legally name your baby ''fuck'' or change your name to it
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: David Beauvais |
Re: names Probably, but why would you want to visit that on your kid? |
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Stone |
Re: names In general, individuals have a First Amendment right to choose their own names, but there are limitations. Courts have refused name change petitions where the proposed name is "offensive to decency and good taste," see, e.g., In re Knight, 36 Colo. App. 187, 537 P.2d 1085 (Colo. 1975); In re Porter, 31 P.3d 519, 521 (Utah 2001); Petition of Snaphappy Fishsuit Mokiligon For Change of Name, No. 2005-NMCA-021 (N.M. App. 2004). I'm sure there are similar California cases on point if you were to do the research. Simply put, you're not going to find a judge who is going to grant an order changing your name to what you propose.
With regard to what to name the baby, There was just a case of a New Jersey couple who named their child "Adolf Hitler Campbell." The Campbells' local supermarket refused to spell the child's name on a birthday cake; and the child was taken by child protection authorities on various grounds including that naming one's child "Adolf Hitler" constituted child abuse. Since children can be taken in California at the whim of social workers, for nearly any reason, I would recommend you choose a less controversial name. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Search Questions and Answers


