California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/07/01, 11:25 pm

Legal Question


Can I, the owner, keep the security deposit?

I collected a security deposit from a woman who said she wanted to rent my house becuase I has other interested parties and told her I needed the deposit to hold the house for her. She has now decided to not rent my house and has not signed a lease or rental agreement. I have been turning away other potential renters, saying the house has been rented, because of this deposit and verbal agreement that she would move in. Am I allowed to keep any of the $1400 deposit because of the loss of potential income from someone else who may have moved in?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search