California  |  Family Law

question bubble
7/10/09, 2:51 pm

Legal Question


Quitclaim vs. Interspousal Transfer in Community Property State

During the refinancing of our home, my husband plans to sign a quitclaim deed. The deed to the house will be rewritten in my name only as my sole and separate property. The mortgage will also be in my name only. We are also planning to divorce. Since California is a community property state, does having the quitclaim deed exempt the home from community property during a divorce? What about an interspousal transfer deed?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search