California  |  DUI Law

question bubble
2/23/10, 12:42 pm

Legal Question


Hi, I received a DUI back in October 16, 2009. The police officer gave me a pink paper stating that I must show up to court on November 16, 2009. Also, I forgot to call the DMV during the first 10 days I received my DUI. I went on that day to court and the clerk told me that my file hasn't been registered yet so she told me to wait until I receive something in the mail. I recently got a mail from the district attorney saying that I need to show up to court on February 26, 2010.

Information of my DUI case: I crashed into a tree and totaled my car. I blew a 0.08. I believe I fell asleep since it was so late, 4:30 AM. I drank around 10 PM - 1 AM that night and I waited to sober up before I drove. I did well on my sobriety tests that the officers gave me.

I wanted to know if my license gets suspended for an year or just 4 months. Can I still get a provisional license? I am 21 years old and the accident happened 10 days after I turned 21. I go to school and I work at home but I need to make deliveries everyday. I sell HID lights for cars to retail stores in the Orange County and Los Angeles area. For the past few months my friends and girlfriend gave me rides to wherever I needed to go. But I feel like I should get a license very soon or else they will get very irritated of me.

Also, I met with many lawyers and the consensus I got was that I should just get a public defendant to defend my case first. If I can't get some kind of bargain they said to come back and get a lawyer. Is that a good idea?


Bail Bonds - Toll Free 888-221-6663 - 3% Down

Have your loved ones been charged with a crime? Are you afraid that they may lose their job, their family and good name? HELP THEM AVOID JAIL, AVOID LOSING THEIR FREEDOM...AVOID LOSING THEIR MIND! Let the bail bondsmans of Andrew Sterling use their savvy quick skills, experience in the field of bail, and familiarity with California Courts and Jails to FREE YOUR LOVE ONES FROM JAIL.

http://www.bailbondslocal.com


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search