California | Employment Law
Legal Question
A release of claims my employer asked me to sign includes a statement: "The release does not waive any rights that may arise after the date you sign the release." The rights include but not limited to Company policies and procedures; Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended; the Civil Rights Act of 1991; the Americians With Disabiltes Act; the Family and Medical Leave Act; the California Labor Code; the California Fair Employment and Housing Act; and any other federal or state or local statute ordinance or regulation. So, this means if I continue to work at this company I don't have any rights at all. Is this legal for the employer in California? Should I sign it? Thanks much!


