California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/28/09, 8:58 pm

Sister got caught stealing $300 worth of items @ Kohls. She was w/ her 16yr old daughter who got arrested as well. She has two misdemeanor chagres 1 for petty theft and the other 272 pc because of the minor. court date in Nov. What now????

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/29/09, 4:08 am by Jacek W. Lentz

Your sister needs to consult confidentially with a defense attorney. Most lawyers will evaluate her case free of charge. While charges against her are not terribly serious, she should do all she can to avoid having a theft conviction on her record. She should not discuss her case with anyone except a lawyer and she should not attempt to represent herself. If she cannot afford private counsel to represent her in court, a public defender will be appointed for her.

Jacek W. Lentz, Esq. 213.250.9200 www.lentzlawfirm.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Jacek W. Lentz 1055 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 1996 Los Angeles, CA 90017

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/29/09, 4:08 am by Jacek W. Lentz

Your sister needs to consult confidentially with a defense attorney. Most lawyers will evaluate her case free of charge. While charges against her are not terribly serious, she should do all she can to avoid having a theft conviction on her record. She should not discuss her case with anyone except a lawyer and she should not attempt to represent herself. If she cannot afford private counsel to represent her in court, a public defender will be appointed for her.

Jacek W. Lentz, Esq. 213.250.9200 www.lentzlawfirm.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Jacek W. Lentz 1055 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 1996 Los Angeles, CA 90017

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/29/09, 2:25 pm by Terry A. Nelson

What now? She is facing criminal charges that she must try to defend. Most people hire an attorney when facing the prospect of jail. Her priors make that likely. If she is serious about hiring counsel, feel free to have her contact me. If she can't afford private counsel, she needs to apply for the public defender.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search